The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Things I Learned in the Garden This Year

Summer Harvest Haul

Summer Harvest Haul

Season isn’t over yet, I still have carrots, beets, greens, and maybe some broccolis left growing, but I made this list so that I remember for next year:

  • Grow 2 rounds of maters so you have some left at the end of September (this lesson was 2 stage. 1. All of our maters died super early from blight and 2. we checked out a new farmers market down in Old Salem this weekend and there were 3 booths with maters so I asked them how they did it)
  • Grow 3-4 rounds of summer squash. (This one I owe to Blair of Black Sheep Family Farm. I always just thought you planted your couple of plants and they raged the whole summer and you were overloaded with squash. Now I know they all eventually succumb to squash bugs and downy mildew so its best to keep new ones rolling,)
  • We don’t really like/eat snap peas. I thought we did. We all thought we did. But they were the most frequently left uneaten veggie of the season.
  • Must cloche all broccolis, tatsoi, cabbage, and greens. (Even my fall crops have been very eaten by bugs.)
  • Carrots need constant moisture to germinate and it’ll be a miracle if I ever grow a carrot as big as those ones you buy in the 5lb bag at the store. But I’m trying!
  • Best tasting tomato on the planet: Cherokee Purple (hat tip to Blair again)
  • Best tasting sweet pepper on the planet: Carmen (Blair)
  • Zinnias are the bomb diggity, they grow and flower and flower and grow. Some are over 6 feet tall!! Next year we need something purple for the bouquets though.
  • Plant more of all the herbs then I think we could ever possibly need. Must haves: Basil (for pesto), Parsley (for tea and drying), Dill (for pickles), Cilantro (for every salsa recipe).
  • Find some mini sweet & sour gherkin melon cucumbery things to grow. (We had some at the new market this past weekend and they were awesome. Looked like watermelons the size of grapes.)
  • Need to grow lots of small cukes for pickling for Hank. As many as I can grow, I think he would eat. Plus they are super easy to make. Plant 3 rounds.
  • Grow regular old plain jane jalapenos for salsa. Dried ones can be roasted for chipolte.
  • Peppers especially would have done better with regular water and a cloche even in summer just to keep them warmer. The ones in the hoop house produced a LOT more.
  • Grow leeks to overwinter as an alternative to onions. Start them in June?
  • We like collards. Tasty cooked green that seems like it should be relatively easy to grow. Screw spinach.
  • When you have a lot of eggplants, even though you don’t love eggplants, you figure out how to eat and store a lot of eggplants. Three plants is plenty. The hoop house was perfect for them. The long skinny ones taste less bitter/weird then the fattys.
The Garden Entrance, nearing Fall

The Garden Entrance, nearing Fall

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “Things I Learned in the Garden This Year

  1. Charlei
    December 7, 2013

    Parsley for tea? I never thought of that. I’m sad you have squash bugs there. I hate them. I suck at squash.

    • mudly
      December 7, 2013

      Yea, parsley tea is a good for your liver/gall bladder. But really I started drinking it to help with the first couple days of my period. I start a day or two before I know I should be getting it (i’m pretty regular and mark it on the calendar so this easy), and drink it for the first day or two. I feel like it helps immensely.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2013 by in Garden.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

