The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

The Path Through the Woods

IMG_4771

Leaves crunching underfoot. I’m walking along to Mom’s house. A walk I make at least 3 times a day. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Plus errand trips, transporting items to and fro. Garbage to the bath house. Laundry to the garden fence and back again. Canning jars from the storage cabin. Coolers to Genie. Vegetables from the garden.

I have now seen this scenery in all seasons and weather conditions. We will have lived at Hawk-Mo a year the Sunday after Thanksgiving. We started driving down to visit it every weekend starting at the end of September 2012.

As the leaves crunched underfoot on my way to make lunch, I suddenly remembered to look up from staring at my feet cruise across the gravel path. I smiled. This path I walk everyday is serene. Its beautiful. Its nature. For a good portion of the journey I am in the woods. I have left the cabin meadow and entered the woods, through which I can only see woods until I round a bend and meet the well, woodpile and Mom’s house. By now Lulu has probably started barking at me. If she’s paying attention.

This was a walk I wondered if I would grow tired of when we first moved here. Somedays I guess I do.

Sometimes I make this walk alone. And then its quite peaceful. Most times I have a dog or three trotting with me, sniffing, playing stick, peeing. Now the Reefer cat comes too. Back and forth. From my house to Mom’s.

IMG_4775

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “The Path Through the Woods

  1. Mitchell
    October 7, 2013

    This is wonderful, Mud. And made me miss writing on my blog for the first time since I stopped. I won’t start it back up, but thanks for the inspiration to write again just for the sake of writing.

  2. mudly
    October 11, 2013

    Mitchell! So good to hear from you man! Why aren’t you writing anymore? Hope Maine is treating you and the fam very well… We were very excited to hear you all were moving. Peace. Love. And adventures to everyone. Give your lovely wife a hug from us would ya?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2013 by in Gratitude.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

