The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

A Lot Happens in 5 Years

Thanksgiving happens to be my favorite holiday (I love to eat AND cook). Because of this, I tend to remember and reminisce about where I was, what I was doing, and who I was with on previous Thanksgivings. I have been thinking a lot lately about how much has changed in the past five years for me. And how little of it I could have predicted 5 years ago. Which leads me to the logical realization that I can do no better at predicting the next five years.

Here’s the run down:

Today, I am 30. I recently started eating meat, after 19 years as a vegetarian. We live at Hawk-mo. Hank and I have our own micro house that we share with RAGGEDedge. Mom has her own house complete with a fully functional bad ass kitchen. I have a permanent raised bed garden, with chicken proof fence, compost area, hoop house, and fall crops! We have trails for biking and running. Hank fixes our cars, hunts things, keeps us safe, cuts all our firewood, and cleared the creekside! Mom is the best bread maker on the planet, although she’s now retired and is taking up canning & herbalism bad assery instead.

A year ago I was days away from buying Hawk-Mo, my first “house.” We celebrated the holiday in Florida, on a three day down and back quickie expedition. Between the YoJam, buying property, and leaving our place in Floyd, we pissed off a lot of people in this year. A thought that makes me sad, but that I also understand as a necessary part of this journey. Somehow it feels like the repercussions of being authentic and chasing our dreams. Therein lies a lesson in learning to let go.

Two years ago we were dreaming big about and planning the first Yoga Jam. We celebrated the holiday at the Outerbanks, soaking up the sunshine and the salt. It was a stressful year and we ended up taking Mom to Burning Man instead.

All loaded up in the burb on the way to the Outerbanks. Three people, three dogs and a LOT of stuff.

All loaded up in the burb on the way to the Outerbanks. Three people, three dogs and a LOT of stuff.

Three years ago was the middle of our first year in Floyd. A town with community. And a house with privacy, a view, and a garden. We got chickens.  I interned with Floydfest as their merch coordinator. I met Hank. I went to Burning Man for the first time. I started getting a paycheck from RAGGEDedge! We celebrated the holiday at John & LA’s and had a blast playing Blokus and Apples to Apples.

Four years ago we lived in Florida still and we were dreaming big about moving to the mountains and finding community, privacy and property. Learning to grow food, eat local, and go balls deep on homesteading. Little did we know that 6 months later we’d be on our way thanks to a big wholesale order from Hammer Slammer. RAGGEDedge had just made ends meet for its first month in August.

Five years ago we were broke as a joke. Mom and Terry were moving in with me in Clearwater (right at Thanksgiving) so that we could give RAGGEDedge a serious go. They didn’t have jobs. RAGGEDedge grossed like $9k that year. I worked in a real estate office until I got fired.  As a matter of fact, I got fired from my last 4 jobs before RAGGEDedge. I had yet to have any real desire to grow food, although I did plant one tomato that grew to be over 8 feet tall and never produced a single mater.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

One comment on “A Lot Happens in 5 Years

  1. beckyruth
    November 25, 2013

    Hi Meredith! happy almost thanksgiving! I enjoy following your blog as you and your mom and hank make a ruckus in your new life together.  I look forward and often read your posts aloud to carlos, have forwarded some to stace & chelley in case they’re too busy to follow regularly.  anyway, wanted to alert you that I’m having trouble pulling up your wordpress site this morning.  it could be my computer skills but it keeps booting me off line whenever I try any of the options to connect.  i’ll check back later and hope I can zoom in then.  meanwhile, wishing you all a happy thanksgiving week.  warmly, becky Garcia (Stacey Garcia’s crazy mom)

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2013 by in Changes and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

