The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Building a Brand: Learning to Tell Our Story, Lessons in Worthiness, and Starting

small_block1

It isn’t fear exactly. More like trepidation.

Looking around the web, I am more then inspired by what others have done and are doing. Inspired by all the other great brands that have come before us, and set the example. Inspired by the creative geniuses behind their photo shoots, product descriptions, and websites. I have a long ways to go. The cool thing is, I know I can do this. And the other cool thing is, this is my job. A job I could have never dreamed up when I was back in school trying to figure out what I wanted to do.

This is one of those moments where the learning curve is steep, but in a good way. Because if there was no where left to go, we’d be dead in the water. Instead, there is an overwhelming amount of room for improvement. And I knew this a long time ago, if only I wasn’t afraid to see.

I’m not one to fear the work, it’s more that I was unsure of exactly how to tackle it all. That big huge question at the beginning of any great endeavor is: Where do I start?

And always, the answer is simply to start. Start and the next steps will come. Just start somewhere. Take one step and the rest will follow.

In this case, we are starting with our website. The thing is, we aren’t just copying everything from our old site over to the new one. Nope, we are upgrading it all. Which means designing banners with ad type concepts, rewriting product descriptions, reworking our navigation and searchability, creating page layouts, and brainstorming about what the RAGGEDedge Gear brand means to us and developing our story and bigger picture. The hardest part is that last part because it’s the key to everything else. I’ve spent weeks thinking on it and researching and writing down ideas and concepts, taping things all over the wall. Finally, its starting to come together into something tangible that I can work with.

Basically I have a master image in my mind of the overall look and feel, and I have to communicate that through pictures, banners and text, which Mom then uploads to the appropriate locations and spends hours  trying to figure out how to make things work  and look the way they’re suppose to. It’s one part frustration, one part satisfaction. And when we’re in the zone, we both really like what we’re doing. The key right now, for me, is to not get too caught up in all the awesome pictures we don’t have yet, and work with the ones I got until I can take better ones. Pictures are a big huge ginormous part of how people perceive our product and top notch product pictures these days are all about the setting, so we don’t come across as high end, or worth the money, because our pictures simply aren’t classy enough. Focus, I tell myself. Step one is the website, pictures can come later.

It feels like a huge monstorous project with no end in site, but it isn’t dreadful. In fact, its actually pretty exciting. I see all this potential and I just want to get on it. I’ve come to realize, without a doubt in my mind, that RAGGEDedge more then has a future, and the biggest reason we struggled last year is because we didn’t think big enough for ourselves. We still struggle to think big enough. Or maybe big is the wrong word. Maybe its more about worthiness. We struggle to think we’re worthy of more. That our business is worthy of more. That our products are worthy of more. The more I research other brands and how they tell their story, and think about what we’re about and how to portray that and tell our story, the more I realize that we are worthy. That we have been the ones holding ourselves back. We can’t ask for more from the Universe, until we believe we deserve it. Which is probably something all of you have known all along.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “Building a Brand: Learning to Tell Our Story, Lessons in Worthiness, and Starting

  1. Dick and Kathy Philips
    January 25, 2014

    fun to hear your thoughts. way to go kid!

    • mudly
      January 28, 2014

      thanks for reading! this business thing is one heckuva life project, but i really and truly love the challenge of it and the diversity of my days. hard? yes. worth doing? totally. everyday i wrap my head around things just a little bit more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2014 by in Entrepreneurism.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

