The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Decisions and Consequences

I’ve learned about cause and effect since I was little. My mom calls it “logical consequences.” I learned that if I didn’t eat what was served for dinner, I wouldn’t get to eat dinner at all. I learned that if I was mean, I would get in trouble. I learned that if I avoided going to bed, I would just have to go that much earlier. I learned there were consequences to my actions, and it was up to me to decide if I wanted to be full or go hungry, get sent to my room or get to keep playing, get to stay up till my bedtime or get sent to bed at 7. I’m sure other children learned other lessons, but we all learned the same basic principle: If I do this, this will happen.

Its hard for me to watch people I love still struggle with this. Its hard for me to watch them feel as though their future is out of their hands. Its hard for me to understand their feeling of helplessness within their own lives… and yet at the same time I feel that for them. It feels selfish of me to stand on my own two feet and watch, instead of include myself. I care, I care immensely. And so I think back to those childhood lessons, and I appreciate learning them. I know that they needed to be learned. I know that I am responsible for my actions. This is the existence that I have chosen to be my life. Good things and bad. Hard decisions and huge accomplishments alike, I am the one that got me here (but don’t misunderstand, I don’t disregard the rest of the world’s participation in those moments). And I know this. And it is empowering. I have the ability to choose. The power to make choices. The freedom to do and be who I want to be. And I wouldn’t give that knowledge up for anything, even if it was easier and less painful to think otherwise. To be able to blame someone else.

So those people that I love, that are struggling to make tough choices, or just struggling to take control, to be responsible for their future- I believe that the best possible thing I can do for them is give them the time and space to learn that they can help themselves. They are strong. They will figure it out. They will be okay. It’s just that okay might not be exactly the way they had pictured it.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

