The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

moving chi

One of the basic concepts in acupuncture is that the needles move your Chi. I don’t have a firm grasp on what exactly this Chi is, other then that it is an internal flow of energy within my body. When it becomes stagnant or slow, toxins accumulate rather then being flushed out.

Right now I am sick. And this concept of moving Chi makes a lot of sense. I’m not taking any drugs to make me temporarily feel better (which essentially force things further into stagnation), I am taking herbs to help my body get them out and flush them out.  Along with the herbs, it seems as though physical movement has the same effect. I feel like I feel better, and worse, back and forth, back and forth. But really I think its a matter of getting out one layer of toxin, moving around a bit as I feel better, and then jostling lose the next deeper layer. Each time my body gets a little bit healthier and a little bit stronger. It just feels like it takes forever, but really healthy isn’t a yes or no state of being. It is a process.

So while lack of movement and stagnation might make me feel better in the short term, it doesn’t help anything in the long term. And this is where I find myself thinking again about people and relationships of all kinds. I’ll be the first to admit that I have shoved issues under the rug, put on a smile, and tried to go about my life as if something didn’t bother me, only to have it blow up (at far greater an emotional expense) sometime later. You can’t hold the Chi back, anymore then you can hold back the tide. As soon as I realized that I started accepting it, and accepting where I was, and where I am. It was really hard at first, but its getting easier the more I practice. And I’m getting stronger… Not resistant, not with walls, but with my own sense of self.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

