The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

some things were never meant for words

How many times have you not said anything because you could never quite figure out the right thing to say? It isn’t that you didn’t have an opinion one way or the other, its that the way your answer keeps forming in your head it doesn’t fully communicate everything that you want it to. It doesn’t say enough. Or it doesn’t say it the way you feel it. So you just leave it lying out there in space, hoping/trusting that the other person can forgive you for your lack of language skills.

So there are many things I never say or write or answer. And there are many other things that I do. And once I do, I keep myself up at night thinking how I could have said it or written it or answered it better.

Yesterday, I asked somebody a question they couldn’t answer. An hour later I couldn’t help but think it was fairly absurd to have asked, and even more so to have expected an answer. I don’t even want an answer now, at least not directly, it would seem almost irrelevant. In the moment, I just asked. Now that I’ve had time to think about it, I can’t make sense of it. I know what I meant, I know why I asked, I know what I would ask instead, and I know how, but it isn’t anything that I can put into words.

Maybe at the end of it all that is the lesson. It is the things that we don’t ever have to say or write that matter the most.

Update: I sat down to read a little bit of Linchpin by Seth Godin and within the first two pages he writes: “The problem is simple: Art is never defect-free. Things that are remarkable never meet spec, because that would make them standardized, not worth talking about.” and “If it wasn’t a mystery, it would be easy. If it were easy, it wouldn’t be worth much.”

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

