The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

planning shmanning

Its not that I don’t see the value of making a plan. I do. Its just that plans are so unwieldy, they’re such a giant guess. If I had to, I could write a plan for the next year (for me or for RAGGEDedge), but I have no idea what its actually going to take, and/or how long its going to take, for me to get from here to there (where ever I decide there is). No clue.

So my new plan is to make little plans. Tiny ones. With an end goal in mind, yes, but each plan is really just one step.

Big plans are impressive no doubt. They’re fun to talk about. Satisfying to put on paper. But little plans are where the action is. Little plans happen. Big plans get left behind in conversations and presentations.

Big plans fall through and then they look down upon you, little plans see where you are right now and then they ask you out on a date.

When I started, my plan was to write this blog post. My next plan: take a shower.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

4 comments on “planning shmanning

  1. Lex
    March 18, 2010

    Love it!!!!! so true!

  2. alan
    March 21, 2010

    In my lie of work (software engineering), people always want plans, schedules, estimates. I have almost convinced everyone I work with that any date I give them will be just as reliable as any other date. Most people have stopped asking me when I’ll be “done” with something. Recently, when the big boss asked, hesitantly, what my guess for finishing my latest project would be, IF I had to guess, I told him about 3 months. But then I pointed out that that was like asking someone how long it would take them to drive across Canada in the middle of Winter – it all depends on how many snowstorms you run into! These days, people are asking me if we’re anywhere near Vancouver yet!

    All the plans in the world would do no good, because too many things happen that you could never plan for. In a course I used to teach, we talked about measuring progress in terms of inch-pebbles instead of mile-stones. Little plans tend to actually get accomplished….

    • mudly
      March 21, 2010

      I think when people ask for plans what they’re really after is the guess. They have no concept of what you’re doing, so they are relying on you for an educated guess. The same as a doctor trying to determine how long their cancer patient is going to live.

      But plans are also a way people show a level of seriousness or priority. Recently, we were contacted by a group of people interested in setting up an international RE distributorship, and we had to ask them for a roll out time line, and we knew it was a total guess even as we asked, but it was the only way we could get a handle on how serious they were and how fast they wanted to move on it.

      I think maybe the world “plan” just has acquired the wrong implications.

  3. Pingback: the biggest pictures « mudly art

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

