The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

connection

We work so hard to be our own person, and then we end up searching the world for people like us, that understand us and think like us. We want to surround ourselves with people that share what we believe to be our own special, unique mindset.

Non-conformists want to find other non-conformists. Even independent souls are really in search of other independent souls. We might not want to define ourselves by anything mainstream, but we still don’t want to feel alone. We seek connection with like-minded individuals, its just that we believe they are harder to find, because they aren’t average, because we aren’t average.

This came about because I just read a post on another blog that made my brain tingle a little bit. Reading it, I felt like the author could be me, somewhere in the future. His words collected my thoughts in a way I know I’m not capable of yet.

And then I sat down to read another couple of pages of Linchpin, and Seth does the same thing:

…artists have the chance to make things better.

Other people often make the choice to be victims. They can be the flotsam and jetsam tossed by the waves of circumstance. Until they make the choice to be artists, they sadly float along.

Artists understand that they have the power, through gifts, innovation, and love, to create a new story, one that’s better than the old one.

Optimism is the most important human trait, because it allows us to evolve our ideas, to improve our situation, and to hope for a better tomorrow. And all artists have this optimism, because artists can honestly say that they are working to make things better.

And

Art, at least as I define it, is the intentional act of using your humanity to create a change in another person. How and where you do that art is a cultural choice in the moment…

I’m not so interested in pushing you to become a brilliant filmmaker. I’m very passionate about exploring why you are so afraid about creating art that is actually within your grasp.

I think of myself as an independent individual. Special. Unique. Unlike a lot of people. And yet I want to meet more people like me. And I want to read more words that resonate with me.

It feels like a conundrum.

But these people and ideas that I’m after. I want them to be at a different level then me. I want to feel challenged by their place in the world. I’m not sure meeting somebody exactly where I am would be so exciting. But meeting someone ahead or behind but on a similar path, that makes me tingly. In one situation I get to be the student artist, and in the other I have the opportunity to be a teacher artist.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

3 comments on “connection

  1. Pingback: connection « mudly art | Chi 90

  2. kseverny
    March 21, 2010

    Some very true thoughts here.
    i enjoyed reading this post

  3. Ben Coe
    March 22, 2010

    Some of the most inspiring words I have ever read. Thanks for writing it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

