The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

in someone else’s shoes

When I encounter someone (or a situation with someone) that I don’t understand (read: an interaction that didn’t work out the way I thought it would or should, aka mistake or failure) I try to learn from it. I try to imagine what they’re thinking, instead of wishing that they just think and acted more like me. I try and figure out where they are in the world that that is how/why they are acting or reacting in the way that they are. I actually spend a fair amount of time in this realm. Each encounter is a chance to improve upon the last one.

I am learning to be much less judgmental and much more compassionate. I still tend to have an immediate gut reaction to a situation, but I am getting better at realizing that that is what it is, and letting it pass. So I take time and space to think outside my realm, to contemplate an existence and state of being that is not my own. I recognize that truly knowing where someone else is in their world is impossible (after all we barely know ourselves), but I think exploring the possibility is a worthwhile endeavor. Contemplating other people’s worlds has given me much insight into my own. Other people have unknowingly taught me a lot of valuable lessons.

I’m curious if you do this. And why or why not?

(On a side note, my last post was my 100th. Just a number I know, but one I’m proud to have reached.)

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

One comment on “in someone else’s shoes

  1. Ben Coe
    April 1, 2010

    I do it! Instead of just wondering though I often ask lots of questions to figure out where that person is in relation to my understanding of the world. Not judging… just asking. Congrats on the 100!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

