The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

lessons in being

When I find a really good book it tends to consume me. I almost always read non-fiction. I like stories about real people doing real things, doing good things, doing hard things.

Right now, I’m in the process of devouring and savoring (is that even possible at the same time?) Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver and it is just totally rocking my world, in a way that I wanted it to be rocked. Perhaps, in a way that I even needed for it to be rocked. Books are a way for us to come to information and decisions on our own time and at our own level. They don’t have an expectations, they just offer themselves freely as inspiration. Perhaps books are “organic inspiration” in one of its more effective forms.

Two weeks ago it was hard for me to contemplate going a week without eating a tomato. They are my staple, instantly everything tastes yummylicious addition to any quick veggie concoction. I love them DEARLY. Today I said that I would stop buying tomatoes until we could get them fresh from a local grower at the farmer’s market. Two weeks ago, I would not have been able to make that kind of commitment, and I certainly wouldn’t have wanted to listen to anybody else who might have suggested it.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

