The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

girls that like lawnmowing and chainsawing

How many do you know? I can’t say that I’ve met any ones other then myself. But I didn’t really think too much of it, its more just a matter of how I am. I’d even go so far as to say I overlook the fact that it might be considered strange, or cool, or out of the norm. For me, its really just how I roll. And for most of the people that I interact with, they are used to that being how I roll, so there is no pointing out of the oddities of what I do.

But my uncle, he’s not used to me yet. Or he is, sort of, but he doesn’t just expect me to be the way I am.

So yesterday, when said uncle, John, informs me that he saved me some lawn to mow so I can try out his super fancy pants Husqvarna Z mower I am ecstatic! Like, ridiculously excited, positively delighted, absolutely stoked because A. he had remembered that I loved lawn mowing and had saved me some to try out his spiffy machine and B. he trusted me to drive said machine. And oh man was it fun! The Z stands for “zero turn” and zero turn it does. Plus, this baby would hop a baby wheeley from the start, and she does 11.5 mph!!!! I didn’t want to go that fast, because I woulda bobbled myself right out of the seat, but daaaamn was it cool. If only they made cars you could drive like that! And the whole time, John just watched with a smile on his face- he was enjoying that I was enjoying it. Towards the end, my mom came out with the camera so I could have some picture documentation of the event and her and John went on to discuss that I would also like to learn how to use a chainsaw… So I turn the Z off and he asks me if that’s true, of course I say “Hell yeah!” And we’re off. Put on safety gear, got the respectthechainsawitcankillyoushitscaredoutme speech, and demo. And then I cut things!

All in all, a utterly fabulous morning.

As it turns out, later I found out that he was just as delighted by the whole experience as I was. Delighted because here I am a girl, genuinely interested in learning to do things that would be normally be considered man’s territory. He doesn’t know any other girls like me. His perspective was refreshing. Although I know that I tend to step outside the boundaries of average-girlness mentality on a regular basis, it is not often that any one around me speaks up about that, and/or makes it known that that is something they think is cool. Hell, at this point, I think my mother just takes it for granted. I break the rules, I do what boys do, what else would I do? But it was really kinda nice to hear that he noticed, and he was genuinely impressed and totally happy to be a part of my education in the land of chainsaws and lawn mowers.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

3 comments on “girls that like lawnmowing and chainsawing

  1. Mitchell Brown
    October 31, 2010

    Ahhhh……I sat a giggled through this whole thing. The joy that must have been beaming out of you as you raced around at sub-11.5 mph also beams out of your words that you share with us. That is infectious and a wonderful gift on this beautiful morning, Mud. Thank you.

  2. islesfordmom
    November 4, 2010

    Um yeah cool, I was wondering if I was the only one:) You’d better go read my blog…I love cutting wood it makes me feel soooooo great and yeah I own my own saw, and the husky chaps, steel ltoed boots, helmet…ect…Glad I stumbled on to you through your poetry. I’ll keep reading! Please keep writing!

    • mudly
      November 5, 2010

      yay! i will go read your blog. and i will keep writing… so i hope you keep reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

