The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

the problem with doing it now

The problem is that I worry I’m not ready. I know (or at least I think that I know) that if I wait, it will be better later. I will be better later. I will be smarter, or wiser, or more prepared. This is the kind of thinking that keeps me safe. This is the kind of thinking that makes me feel like I am justified in my hesitation, in my waiting, in my afraidedness. This is only one side of my brain. Thankfully.

It is balanced by the other side, whose title for this post would be: “do it now, and then do it better the next time.”

This is the side I wish to be louder and more forceful. This is the side I want to take over.

Almost every time I write, be it here, an email, or a letter, or in my journal, I get writers remorse of sorts. I write it, and then I read it, and then I immediately think of how I could have written it better. How my point got lost, or it got confusing, or I didn’t say what I meant, or the tone was all wrong, or whatever. But basically, its not everything I had hoped it would be when I sat down to write it. But I post, and I hit send, and I put letters in the mail, because I realize that its ok, even good, to let things be done. To put them out there in the world as they are, and to know that while it might not ever change, I can change, and I can continue creating and evolving and getting better and doing better next time. And every time. And each thing done is a building block for the next.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

