The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

wide awake

Typically I am an amazing sleeper. I can sleep anytime, anywhere, and through almost anything. If I really want to be sleeping. To be awake at this time is a rarity for me. I think I’m a little excited about the weather. I want to see the very first snow flakes fall.

Right now, it is 4 o’clock in the morning. And I’m not just a little awake, that was at 3, when I first contemplated getting out of bed. My dilemma now is, what does one do at 4 o’clock in the morning that won’t wake up the rest of the house? Hence why I’m writing…

If you’re beginning to suspect that this post might be a waste of your time, you might be right.

But I just wanted to share how cool the world is at 4, if you haven’t seen it in awake state in a while. The fire in the wood stove is sleepy, but still warm. The earth feels silent and cozy. Its dark out, but the light will be coming soon. And I feel as though I just have time. Extra time. To do extra things which I haven’t been making time to do otherwise. It reminds me of when I used to get up early and go in to the studio at school, I’d say good night to the tail end of the late crowd and then I’d have the studio all to myself for an hour or two before Irineo came in. Even if I didn’t actually get anything done, it felt like I did. There’s no distractions, no other pressing urgent matters, no expectations from anybody else. It was just me and my cup of coffee and my thoughts.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

One comment on “wide awake

  1. Meka
    December 12, 2010

    🙂 Somehow it always seems just a little more magical and beautiful outside at that hour. Everything is still and there are endless possibilites for the day. HAve fun fun fun today!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2010 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

