The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

lying down, looking up, seeing in

There I was, on my back, with blue sky till infinity. I could see farther then I could imagine. Or maybe it was vice versa. I’m not really interested in the science or the details. I’m interested in the moment: It was free. I was there. I was experiencing it. I had caused it. And it meant nothing in the grand scheme of, well, life and its accomplishments. It wasn’t anything I would write down as something to be proud of. Except that here I am, writing it down, as something I’m proud of. Because I am. Because I just was.

I think I’m in New Year’s defrag (aka wind down). All this talk and thinking and writing about what I’ve done and what I want to do has me losing site of where I am. Something I think I’ve been losing site of for a long time. It’s not that I don’t stop to smell the flowers (because I do), its that I don’t do it enough. I forget to enjoy this moment. I forget to enjoy the process. I forget to enjoy the challenge. The journey. The path I’m on. I forget to stop looking forward to what could be and relax into what is and to find the inherent beauty in that. Because I know its there.

So I lied down on my back in the middle of a field in the middle of my run. I lied down because I was struck by the opportunity to do it. Because I could. Because I wanted to. I wanted to feel small in the enormity of the space that surrounds me. It felt peaceful. I laid there until I felt like getting up and then I zig zagged my way up and over the hill to my house in no particular rush, enjoying the crunch of the frozen grass under my feet and the sunset and the Christmas lights on the tree and the my ability to absorb it all and to be.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

