The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

karma happens: part II of Alice & the deer

I wasn’t going to write this post because I felt like I couldn’t do the story justice. And then I thought how chicken that was. So here I am, writing it, with two pieces of advice from Stephen King’s On Writing in my head:
1. write honest
2. start in a situation

Kenny Graham shows up at our house this morning just after 8 o’clock, with his car trailer in tow, just as he’d said he would. The memory of last night’s good fortune in meeting this man was not a dream after all. Here he was standing in our driveway, in daylight, on Sunday morning, ready to take us to get Alice and get her fixed up. Mom and I were just along for the ride.

Kenny is not the kind of man that either one of us ever thought we’d be sitting next to in a truck on our way to accomplish a serious favor for us. We live in two different worlds, and had it not been for that deer, I’m pretty sure they never would have collided.

We wore colorful winter jackets, he wore a camo Carthartt. We had on hand knit beanies, he was rocking an old loved foam dome from the local gun shop. He wore clean dirty jeans, leather belt with a big buckle, well worn steel toed boots, and a wallet chain. He has a beard, long hair, and manly beer gut. I’m sure that it was just obvious to him that we are hippies as it was to us that he is a good ol’ boy, but it didn’t matter to either of us. He saw two nice ladies that could seriously use his help, and we saw a man that wanted to help us out of the kindness of his heart. It was a lesson for us in learning to trust that kindness.

I was apprehensive about this Sunday adventure to bring Alice home. I didn’t quite know what to expect, accept the unexpected. I thought in the light of day that there would be awkwardness and weird moments of silence. I was still unsure as to why this man would go so far out of his way to help us so much, and I struggled thinking about if I would do it in return, if we deserved this stroke of good Karma, and if we were given the opportunity to pay it forward, would we. I struggled with those thoughts throughout the day.

We spent 7 hours with Kenny today. And in that 7 hours mom and I both practiced trusting him. He drove us to 4 different auto parts stores, and looked through a bunch of boxes, looking for a tie rod that would work, all to no avail. Normally mom and I wouldn’t have wanted to be such a hassle so we would have called a hault to the search party after the first one, and suggested that we just go ahead with plan C to weld it up with a get home package and wait for the right part to come in. But today we bit our tongues and gracefully and graciously let Kenny do what he wanted to do, which was exhaust all possibility of actually being able to fix it before jury rigging it with a weld job.

The inspiration for this out of character behavior on our part was the book Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus, which found me at the bookstore 2 weeks ago when I didn’t think I was looking for it, but now I think my subconscious might have been.

I’ve been seeing this guy, Trevor, since October, and around about the end of December I started to realize that I had no idea what was going on. I felt like most of our communication was miscommunication, and I didn’t know how to change it. I knew that what I’d done in the past didn’t work, and I still was fighting hard not to repeat it.

So I admitted that being in a relationship puts me out of my comfort zone. I don’t know the rules and I don’t know how to play my part of the game. At first this drove me nuts. I felt like it was a lost cause. But after reading the book I realize that I have a lot to learn and nothing to lose by trying, instead, I have everything to gain.

Just yesterday before our fateful trip in Alice, I had been explaining to mom what I was learning about how boy’s think, what is important to them, and what makes them feel good, because I was really quite in awe of just how different they are from us. I knew I had no idea, but I didn’t know just how far off base I really was.

With that discussion fresh in our minds, today became practice. We practiced trusting Kenny to Alice fixed as best he could and we practiced appreciating Kenny for this help. And he responded with more kindness and generosity then we ever would have imagined.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

One comment on “karma happens: part II of Alice & the deer

  1. Meka
    January 31, 2011

    more big smiles from this peanut gallery!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

