The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Can you say “empowered”?

Did I draw a line in the sand? You betchya. A line I don’t think you ever thought I’d draw, but in some bizarre way wanted me to draw. And it feels good. Not in a bitchy way, more in a confident way.  I woke up yesterday morning and equated it to when I was a hard ass with Ebags. When I could see that the potential increase in sales (benefits) wasn’t ever going to be worth the loss of our own Google rankings, and the tremendous brand devaluing and price slandering that was already occurring (detriments). Similarly, getting to know you has definitely been fun and had its benefits, but the temporary and sporadic pleasure of your company and communication is no longer able to distract me from the blaring realization that I’m investing myself in something that you’re not invested in, and don’t want to become invested in. So why am I doing it? Fear and lack of trust in the universe. What’s the point in playing nice and compromising, just to see where things go? There isn’t one, its a waste of time.

At the time, that business decision with Ebags was really hard and really scary, especially because we were hungry and we had no better offer on the table. But the second I sent the email demanding better treatment or else, an email that I was pretty sure would end it, I was still worried, but I felt better. I knew we’d made the right decision and I am infinitely proud of how we handled the situation. It feels a little weird to relate something so personal (a relationship) to something so business, but I feel like what’s at stake is similar. I’m demanding a level of respect I feel is reasonable and I’m standing up for what I think I’m worth. Two things that nobody who truly cared would ever want me to compromise on. My mind related the two because it made it easier for me to get past the inevitable twisty emotional disappointment of it all and know, really know, that this is not one of those things I should think about in terms of success or failure. It’s a step. And no matter what happens, what ultimately determines my decisions is whether or not I’m moving in the direction I think is right.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “Can you say “empowered”?

  1. Uncle John
    February 22, 2011

    AMEN. Very well said.

    • mudly
      February 22, 2011

      Thanks Uncle John 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

