The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Acceptance and Release and Inspiration

I can no more change your behavior then I can change the weather. That seems like it should be obvious. Like I shouldn’t have to say that out loud.

Yet, I find myself wishing (or believing or hoping) that I can change you. That I can want better for you, even when you don’t seem to want it for yourself. That if I say just the right thing or set the example, the light will dawn and you will take the action I’ve been wanting you to take. That I can tell you exactly what you should do and you should listen, because I’m right and you’re just too entrenched to see it.

But I know this doesn’t work. I know you can’t tell me anything I don’t already want to hear. I know I don’t really listen. I know we all have to get there ourselves. We are all, on some level, stubborn creatures.

Knowing I can’t change you (and that you, in turn, can’t change me this way either) doesn’t make it any easier to watch you do what you’re doing. It doesn’t stop me from wanting you to believe you’re worth it, your life is worth it, you’re capable of it and you deserve it. I don’t want to give up. I believe in you, even if you don’t. And no sooner then exactly when you’re ready to (because someday I know you will be), you will believe and you will want better for yourself too and you will take action to make that happen.

I know this. Just as I know that Summer will come when its ready too, when the time is right.

But all the time, no matter what season, I get to watch you grow. And in turn, I’m inspired to keep growing as well. Pushing my limits, pushing my boundaries, and pushing the edge of what I believe is possible.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

