The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Digging In or Moving Forward?

When something doesn’t feel right my brain gets stuck running circles around the same question. Over and over I ask myself if I’m doing the right thing. If I’m headed in the direction I want to be going. If I’m making progress or maintaining the status quo. If there is something I can do differently.

When the situation warrants it, I ask myself these questions constantly. On repeat. Like a broken record. I need answers. I want answers. But I don’t want to hear the obvious answers. I’m not ready to upset the apple cart. I’m not ready to make change.

So I write things down and once the questions are on paper I have a definitive starting point. No longer is this just a dilemma in my head. They now stare me in the face, begging for me to see the answers. My brain is no longer occupied with the run around of the questions, so it has time to start to figure out the answers. It makes baby steps. It reminds itself of what’s important. It reminds itself that progress is of the utmost priority.

Progress is the deal breaker or maker. Without progress, digging in, or hanging on, or toughing it out, is just committing yourself to a lifetime of that never ending misery. But if there is progress, then there is hope.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

