The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Personal Defrag

Defrag is like decompressing. I first gave a name to it as my down time after going to music festivals. Defrag is what I call the transitional period between when I come home and when I am truly back immersed into the daily rhythms of the real world. Its the time and space within which I am deep in the process of absorption and contemplation. And it doesn’t just apply to music festivals anymore.

I go into defrag often.

Defrag is a beautiful space. It can be a little rocky at first. And sometimes it starts with anger or frustration instead of the overwhelming of beauty of fantasy festival land that gained it its place of recognition in my head. But none the less, defrag is important.

I think about defrag like the melting of thoughts around other thoughts, in such a way that the cracks or gaps are no longer empty spaces, but instead filled in with a blanketing larger thought or a break down smaller thought that is the crumb and building block of a larger thought.

Just like defrag on your computer, it takes away all the empty useless space that clutters up your thoughts and compresses it all down in such a way that you are able to think clearer and faster and more coherently. Without defrag, one mess just gets piled on top of another, and we get slower and more confused and more stuck and more inefficient.

Even little bits of defrag go a long way. And the more you practice, the better you get. What used to take me three days to wrap my head around, I can now usually accomplish in a couple of hours.

First step for me is always recognizing when I need to do it, and taking the time to do it.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

