The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

One of the Best Road Trips Ever

We’ve been back five days and its official. The more I think about it, the more I realize that that was one of the BEST roadies I’ve ever been on. In fact, I’m going to go ahead and call it epic. Epic because everything amazing that I could possibly want to be a part of an amazing road trip, was a part of this amazing road trip. Let me repeat. Amazing. Epic. The Best Ever.

We left before 5 AM with delicious steaming Red Rooster homebrew in our coffee cups. The music was crankin’ and the playlist was rockin’. The cooler was full of the most gourmet roadie food: breakfast wrap of kitcheri and fresh sliced avocado, homemade bread, almond butter, egg salad, homemade pesto, sliced cheese, sliced tomato, hummus, sliced ginger, and lemon juice. Not to mention the tote bag full of organic, sugar free munchies. I take my food packing responsibilities very seriously. I like to eat and I like to eat well. My mother has learned to trust me on this.

We were driving for fun, and we had fun. We didn’t really speed, we slept, we talked, we sang, I twirled my hair some, we enjoyed the scenery, we hunted up a Starbucks or DD when wanted coffee or tea, every time we got out of the car we did a little yoga stretch or two, and we stopped to pee when we had too and not strictly at gas stops. And the first rest stop in Florida we put on shorts. And once we got off the highway in Tampa, we put the windows down and reveled in the fresh air. It was glorious. All of it.

That was topped off with a night of catching up that just makes me smile. Six of us, Mom, me and the Taulbee clan, sitting around their kitchen table until 9? o’clock at night munching on a bag of sweet peppers, hummus, and tortilla chips like it was going out of style. If I hadn’t known better, I would have sworn we all had a case of the munchies. But that was just the beginning of the awesomeness.

The next three days were fun filled with nonstop visiting of people that we love and miss. And I can’t think of a more awesome way to have spent our time.

I didn’t just have a good time. I had an epic good time.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “One of the Best Road Trips Ever

  1. Stros
    March 27, 2011

    You are an epic good time!

  2. Meka
    March 27, 2011

    I feel so lucky to have been part of such an epic event!!! The littlest Taublee asked where you both were this morning! I swear he was going to look for you on the bunkbeds!

    I too had a phenomenal time while you were here! I say it becomes an annual event!!! I also see a trip to Floyd in our futures which I am not opposed to making an annual event either:)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

