The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

New Directions, Different Directions

I’ll admit, I’m a little all over the place right now. I have one foot in RAGGEDedge doing the day to day, another foot trying to develop my writing, yet another foot thinking about the garden and all that needs to get done and isn’t, and a fourth foot is off dancing around all giddy like about t-shirts and designing and silk screening. Four feet going in different directions has finally got me feeling a little stretched out. Instead of focusing on any one thing and actually getting something accomplished, I feel like I’m flitting. And worrying that I’m not doing enough for each one, instead of just relaxing into the process of the evolution of all of them.

So in the past couple of days I’ve been doing a lot of reading, and trying to figure out how to get back to that feeling of enjoyment rather then chaos. Because as much as I love chaos, chaos is good for inspiration, it isn’t so good for progress.

The conclusion I’ve come to is that I need to figure out an immediate direction (and action I can take) for each individual project. Everything had gotten too big, and too loosey goosey, so I’ve been flailing rather then moving.

In RAGGEDedge I need to step up and find some publicity opportunities and get in touch with the photographer I contacted a couple weeks ago who’s going to take pictures with bullets for some spicy new homepage action.

In writing, I am trying to post daily on either this blog or my new venture – Cultivate Your Karma. And, if you’re interested, I’ve decided that rather then have that be a solo project, I’d like to bring in guest and contributing writers. I think different perspectives and voices are key to the overall success of the message. And, in turn, I am also seeking out guest and contributing writer gigs on other sites.

On the garden front, what needs to be done the most is planting. Its been raining so much that the soil hasn’t had enough of a chance to dry out for us to finish rototilling, so I need to fill up the rest of our seed boxes and get some more things growing that we were planning on direct seeding.

And as for silk screening and designing… I have designs completed and am waiting on my new screens come in. Then I just need to make them. Because then I can print the shirts, and then you all can finally get one!

I guess all it really comes down to is having a plan. I tend to avoid them because they feel so rigid. But I realize, that even if that plan only lasts a day, its enough to get me going somewhere rather then swirling around in a sea of fake busy.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

5 comments on “New Directions, Different Directions

  1. Meka
    March 30, 2011

    breathe in….breathe out…. one thing at a time. At least per hour! I break up the day into the things I want to work on. Give my self a little time in certain areas. If the creative juices are flowing then I roll with it and make upt he time in the area I took from. Does that make sense. You know all of this already. Don’t know Why I am telling you…Probably to remind myself:) Keep one foot dancing at all times and rock on with your bad self!!

    • mudly
      March 31, 2011

      I have tried to organize my day before, designating specific time for things, but I have an incredibly hard time sticking to it, unless there is some outside force that mandates it – like the fact that I have to have shipping done by Noon because that’s the earliest the mailman comes. Other then that, I’ve just come to decide that I’m not a whole day organized kinda person. I end up wasting time feeling like I have to be doing something because thats what my schedule says I should be doing, even when its not what I feel like doing, which isn’t productive at all! So now I’m just a fan of the never-ending to do list notebook. That’s right, I have a whole notebook. Whatever hasn’t been crossed off by the time I need to flip the page, gets written on the next page.

  2. Mitchell Brown
    March 30, 2011

    I can dig it, sister. That feeling of all over the place is very resonant. I try so hard to be present in what I am doing in each moment, but the struggle continues – as does the growth and the boundless sense of wonder in it all.

    Thanks, as always, for sharing. I love reading your writing – it makes me feeling like dancing barefoot in the dirt. 🙂

    • mudly
      March 31, 2011

      You and me, Mitchell. Its ON. The person with the dirtiest feet wins!

      But that whole Saturday morning crew would enjoy a little barefoot dancing in the dirt… I can clearly see a festival in your future and what a bad ass festival family that would be.

  3. John
    March 31, 2011

    above all Be a Good Human.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2011 by in Changes, Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

