The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

My Imperfect Garden To Be

Indoor gardening was on the agenda for after dinner tonight, per my plan of action from yesterday, I was looking forward to starting some more seedlings. I was going for three more flats: one tomatoes, one spinach, and one swiss chard. So I got out the little seed envelopes, and the Organic Gardener’s Bible, just to do a quick read and see if there was anything special I needed to do to start them. After my complete failure with the first round of eggplants, this seemed like a good idea. But my quick read turned into a more serious, hour long read. Somehow I got into the composting and soil preparation section, and my head started swimming. I was nearing overwhelmment. How could I go about starting innocent little seedlings when there was no way our garden was ever going to good enough for them to grow?

Here I had thought we were doing things so much better then last year (when I was convinced it would be a miracle if anything grew at all), and here I was reading that we still had so much further we needed to go.

I mean, just for starters, we don’t have enough compost (bring on the poo!), we apparently don’t know how to make compost (how dare we call ourselves gardeners!), we don’t have enough worms (god help us!), we know nothing about the PH level of our soil (there’s some fancy schmancy kit we’re suppose to buy), we’re rototilling and shouldn’t be!??! (apparently it ruins the soil structure, but how then do we build said soil structure?), we don’t own any decent weeding tools (we have one hoe, its small, rusted, dull, and the handle falls off) and we’re bound to have out of control weeds (because its a new garden, and we did nearly everything wrong last year, including letting weeds go to seed).

And that was just one sentence. I could write another if you dare me to.

I guess I read a little too much. So I put the book down, and I went and planted my little seed boxes anyways, just as I had planned. I am doing my best to garden, and I have confidence that my garden will do its best to grow, and there will never be anything close to perfection in any of that. And in all that messy beautiful imperfection there will be somehow still be vegetables, and they will be delicious.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place, Food, Cooking, the Garden, and the Way We Eat.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

