The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Living outside the box, in search of my direction, and learning lots along the way

As I get more excited about my writing, I am starting to take this blog a little more seriously then I used to. One of the grand beauties of websites is that they lend themselves to change and evolution. Mudlyart has gone from artist portfolio, to personal diary, to a way to find out what I’m up to, to the present.

The more I write, and focus on writing, the more I ask myself what I’m trying to accomplish with it. Who am I writing to? What am I writing about, what is my theme? And why am I writing?

I’ve been a closet writer for years. You know, one of those people that writes but says that they write for themselves because they don’t want the criticism that comes with writing for others. That has been me. I wrote stuff, and I posted stuff that anybody could read (this blog has been around since 2006), but I wasn’t exactly encouraging anybody else to read it (for the most part, my daily views have stayed in the single digits). I didn’t care if my circle got bigger. I was too afraid to want that and not have it happen. I was afraid to admit I was trying and not succeeding, so it was easier just to not admit I was trying. And besides, I wasn’t sure I really had anything to say that would matter to anyone other the people that already knew me.

Well now I am sure I have something to offer. I might be stumbling, but I’m finding my voice. I’m not writing just for me anymore, I’m writing for you too, in hopes that I’ll hit you with that elusive resonation that is so warm and fuzzy feeling and makes you want to jump up and down and say, “YES!! I’m not crazy! Or maybe I am crazy! But I’m not the only one!”

So to start, I changed the tag line for this blog from “my writing. my art. me.” to “living outside the box, in search of my direction, and learning lots along the way.” because that’s really where I’m at right now and that is my inspiration. Hooray for epiphanies! And direction changes! And taking chances!

Whadya say?

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place, On Writing.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

