The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

About this blog update

Lately, I’ve been writing more then I ever have before. And the more I write, the more I ask myself why I’m writing, and particularly why I’m writing so much right now. It’s not because I’m forcing myself to, its because I want to. I would write every day for hours if there weren’t so many other things that I also want to do.

The more I write, the more I try and find a commonality to my writing. A theme. A purpose. A thesis. A point of view. A voice. A soul. I’m in search of some sort of connection within it all. In part because I think it will help me focus, and help me write more and better. But also in part because I think it’s what readers are looking for.

What we are all looking for is the order within the chaos. Amid the chaos, that order is what gives us a sense of balance and stability that helps us relate to and understand our daily lives and the world around us. Without the order, everything is out of context, and almost nothing makes sense. When nothing makes sense, its hard to connect.

And I want that connection. The connection is what I’m after because I think of that as the ultimate success. Its what I enjoy most about reading other people’s writing. Every time I read something and I feel that connection, I smile, because now I know I’m not the only one that’s had that crazy thought, or struggled through that experience, or whatever. Before I might have been pretty sure I wasn’t alone, but the reassurance certainly feels good.

The problem I have when I try to put a name to the theme of this blog is that its not eternal. My mind and my world and my daily existence are in a constant state of transition right now. I’m changing directions so fast that even I think its crazy. And awesome. But still crazy. In a totally cool kind of way. Mind blowing actually.

One moment I’m balls to the wall going one way, and the next I’ve done a complete 180. All for good reason of course.

Writing has become my way of keeping track of it all, and of myself. Without it, I’d just start to feel like I was flitting from one thing to the next, when really, when I take the time to think about it and write about, I realize it isn’t that at all.

Instead, I have an idea, and I take a step in the direction. Then I have another idea, and I take a step in the direction. And so on, and so forth, until the circle comes around and I’m taking step two. But before I take step two, I’ve had time to think about whether or not my original plan is still the most effective for accomplishing the idea, regardless of time, money and effort spent on step one. When all of those things are no longer obstacles to choosing the current best course of action, that course of action changes a lot.

Which is, I suppose, is what this blog is about, but just for right now.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2011 by in Changes, Everything All in One Place, On Writing.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

