The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

The Resistance is Lurking

I had 15 minutes to sit around and read today in between yard chores and a birthday party, so I picked up Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art that I’ve had sitting on my book shelf for probably almost a month, and haven’t even cracked. First I read part of the middle somewhere. Then I started at the beginning. And it called out the Resistance.

It began with:
RESISTANCE IS INVISIBLE
Resistance cannot be seen, touched, heard, or smelled. But it can be felt. We experience it as an energy field radiating from a work-in-potential. It’s a repelling force. It’s negative. Its aim is to shove us away, distract us, prevent us from doing our work. 

I read about 10 of these characteristics and had to stop and write down a list of all the things I could recognize in my world that the Resistance was fighting. It looked something like this:

– developing the habit of waking up at 6 instead of 7
– going for a run or a ride
– practicing yoga at home
– eating ever healthier
– growing vegetables
– writing (here, on CYK, and my new gig KIM)
– making my wall of art
– t-shirt/sticker designing
– moving forward on the Be A Good Human project in general
– the Floyd yoga festival
– paying off debt/saving money
– making friends

And I’m sure I could add more if I sat here longer. But instead, I’m going to a birthday party.

Peace, Love, and Creativity

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2011 by in On Writing.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

