The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Quit Now or Garden with a Headlamp, Otherwise the Veggies will Suffer

We find ourselves out in the garden, watering, weeding, planting and mulching, until dark. Tonight, I was weeding a row of beets and onions until I could no longer tell what was vegetable and what was weed. I considered getting my head lamp. And then I thought, tomorrow morning will do just fine. But the thing is, I was enjoying myself. And in some far corner of my mind, it thought to itself, you’re enjoying weeding between little tiny beet leaves and skinny little onions? Really? Really.

This year, in great contrast to last, I’m finding myself able to work in the garden with more grace. This year I made these cute little seed starting flats, and I planted my onions back in March when I was suppose to, and I somehow ended up with what I now call doll house potting soil. All my seedlings grew, but they didn’t ever get big, and they didn’t die. They just stayed small. My dreams of spring broccoli will have to wait until next year, or perhaps we’ll try for a fall crop. My plans to have more onions then we knew what to do with (I planted probably like 500 seeds) may or may not work out. That was plan A, and they seem to be hanging on now that they’re in the ground, but they’re really tiny. I have my fingers crossed that we can harvest them in like October. Plan B is some late planted onion sets we got in the ground a couple weeks ago. It rained all through May and we didn’t get the garden tilled on schedule… so we didn’t get our spring greens in, or the snap peas, or the beets. But right now its looking like the beets might surprise us, and some chard plants are hanging on. I finally got it to stop raining by building a rain barrel, which thankfully got filled just yesterday, nearly two weeks post construction.

I’m learning that I can only do so much and whatever doesn’t get done and doesn’t grow as planned is what it is. I’m learning to enjoy that very nature of gardening. The feeling of satisfaction in going out there and working on it, and seeing it evolve, is immense. It fills me up. It makes my heart sing. Some part of me still thinks I’m weird for thinking that. Some other, larger part of me, thinks I’ve come a long way.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2011 by in Food, Cooking, the Garden, and the Way We Eat.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

