The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Brainstorming

I went to bed last night thinking about this small business class that the universe has told me Mom and I need to teach. And I just started writing.

Marketing your business successfully takes hard work and consistent effort over time. If I could impress upon you one thing, it would that marketing is never a finished project. You should treat is a continual evolving work in progress, not a chore you can cross off your list. Eventually, it should become a part of the rhythm of being a small business owner.

Everything we’re going to share with you is things we’ve learned through our own experience in the past three years of building and marketing RAGGEDedge, from other small business owners that helped us out along the way and from a slew of online blogs and books. There is a wealth of information available, its a matter of knowing where to find it, and being motivated to start in a direction you believe in, and continue relentlessly. Always willing to change. Always willing to reevaluate. Always willing to try a new direction. But never stopping. Realizing that the work you’ve done up to the point of change was not wasted effort. It was a necessary step to get you to where you are today and where you’re going in the future. And while that is easy to say, it is not so easy to convince yourself of sometimes. We all tend to not want to redo things.

There is a quote on my fridge that says, “Constant improvement trumps delayed perfection.”

Also, I want you to know that I believe in you. And I believe that you believe in what you do. Choosing to work for yourself is not the easy way out. I feel like it is a challenging, life changing, and ultimately very rewarding experience. But anything but easy. I feel like it was less of a choice I made and more of a calling that I was brave enough not to ignore. And the satisfaction that comes from waking up everyday and doing something I believe in that I have the power to mold to my vision, is a privledge I appreciate in a way I probably couldn’t explain to someone who wasn’t there themselves.

On the hard days, we need to remember why we started. We need to find that beginners spirit and press on.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2011 by in Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

