The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

Things I Never Thought I’d Do

You know how you have things on your bucket list? Well now I’m going to talk about an item on my UNbucket list. This is the list of things that I simply never imagined myself doing, and yet feels monumental and noteworthy when its happened. I just made it up today because I did something that deserves being on it: chicken killing.

Useful chicken killing. The we-grew-our-own-chickens-and-now-its-time-to-kill-the-roosters-because-they-cost-too-much-to-feed-and-don’t-lay-eggs kind of killing. Plus, we’re going to eat them, or at least Hank is. I’m still a vegetarian.

Probably the first vegetarian to participate in a chicken killing. In truth, I tried every station but the actual chicken killing. The boys did all the neck slitting, and I was happy to let them. I did however pluck, clean, and eviscerate. And it didn’t really gross me out, or freak me out. I felt like the whole experience was an important lesson, and I was grateful to Agatha & David for letting us “help” them and in turn, them helping us.

Just never ever thought that I’d be helping to process chickens, but now that I have, I’m glad I did.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “Things I Never Thought I’d Do

  1. Pingback: Finally We Have an EGG Problem « The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

  2. Pingback: Rainy Days « The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2012 by in Chickens.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

