The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

There is Always One More Thing

We’re crazy. We know this. We say it often. But I think that we might have just reached a new level: we’ve started construction on making our own mattresses. I can’t believe I just typed that. I mean, I can, but it makes it all the more real. And I’m just not sure I’m ready for it to be real. Do you know what kind of an undertaking I’ve committed to? We’ve committed to?!? This project is serious business.

Course, so is deciding to grow your own food and stock your freezer. Apparently I should be up to the challenge.

It all started innocently enough. We’ve moving, we don’t own mattresses, mom decided to start mattress shopping. And she was horrified. And then furious. She found out a lot of scary things about the mattress industry. Scary things like toxic chemicals infused in every mattress made after 2007 in the name of fire retardancy. Chemicals documented to cause cancer, endocrine system failure, and other such similar delights. Only way around it – to go to a doctor and get a prescription to be able to buy an organic latex mattress at a spendy minimum cost of $1200 for a 5″ thick queen. Read that sentence one more time. Now you should be saying this with me, “Yowza! Ouch! WTF!”

Now I was angry and so I went to the only thing on the internet that I thought might be able to provide a magical answer to our problem – Etsy.com. And it f**king worked! There on Etsy I found a seller called OpenYourEyesBedding that makes and sells kits and patterns to make your own organic buckwheat hull mattresses. BINGO! And that is where this story begins and ends.

This is what they’re going to look like. Except a lot more colorful, because we’re cutting up our collection of flat sheets and other large pieces of material from the stash.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “There is Always One More Thing

  1. astroalli
    November 8, 2012

    Rich got mad at me when I wanted to get an organic baby mattress (a friend brought this issue to my attention, especially with a baby spending so much time on one!). Those organic ones are expensive. I ended up getting a non-toxic and PVC & vinyl free one that I am pretty happy with.

  2. Pingback: February: A Month of Projects | The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2012 by in Values.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

