The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

I like how RAGGEDedge has changed me.

There's no pocket in that last shirt

“Sure. You can compromise the experience and do the easy thing. But that doesn’t change you. If you go in as an asshole, you’ll still come out as one.” – Paraphrasing Yvon Chouinard, 180 Degrees South

 

Working for ourselves is not the easy way and a lot of days lately I’ve been waking up and feeling like I wish I had chosen an easier way. Wishing for a regular paycheck. Wishing for a less questionable financial existence. Wishing for a delivery pizza or meal that didn’t require so much cooking. Wishing for a house that was big enough and has less bugs. Wishing for cars that weren’t in need of repair. Generally just wishing for things to be a little easier.

But the thing is, this way that I’ve chosen instead, has changed me. And I like it. And I keep choosing it. And there are lots of other things I would never ever want to give up.

Abundance

I now care about where my food comes from, who I spend my money with and how much energy I use. Probably close to 75% of our food comes direct from local farmers or our own garden. We make every effort to buy local, small, independent and/or awesome. We don’t drive often, heat with wood, and don’t own a dryer. I’ve learned to care about far more then just how much is in my bank account and what things I can buy. The three of us combined make less then the average male in the US over the age of 25 with a college degree, which means we definitely don’t have a fat savings account and an IRA, but we also don’t have any debt other then our mortgage, and we feel like we live really well. We eat organic gourmet, travel often, and make art. I’ve learned that money itself is not inherently evil, it’s what you do with it that matters. And lots of things that matter aren’t worth anything, but are at the same time, priceless.

Working for RAGGEDedge has given me a deep appreciation for freedom and flexibility. For kindness and generosity.  For people who are people first, businessmen second. For perseverance, under dogs, and nerds.

So yea, we could have gotten investment money and paid ourselves fair wages all the while struggling to make a profit and just filed for bankruptcy in 10 years if it wasn’t working, but I would have gone in only caring about money, and come out still only caring about money.

Instead, my life is ever richer for having chosen the hard way.

Please share what makes your life richer in the comments.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

2 comments on “I like how RAGGEDedge has changed me.

  1. meka
    June 8, 2014

    When I left my job as a suit I was questuoned about how I would make money. What I would do if Kurt dropped me at some marina somewhere. My answer was and still is. My wealth is measured not in monetary units but in my life experiences and in that I am a rich woman. I still have periods where I want this and that and my desires are run not my me but by the munchins who surround me. These times will come and go but your memories and pride for how you spend your living days will go on for many lifetimes. Your on the right path and I for one and very proud of you.

  2. suzanne
    June 8, 2014

    I often find myself telling the HawkMo story. My message is always, hard working, crazy good organic eats, simple life and happy people who I love and admire.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2014 by in Entrepreneurism, Everything All in One Place.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

