The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

I Believe in the Good Things Coming

Last bouquet of the season. So long colors. Till next time.

Last bouquet of the season. So long colors. Till next time.

This post title and theme is a lyric from the song Black as the Night, by Nahko and Medicine for the People. I thank you for the inspiration. The struggles, the resistance, and the good things are both personal and universal at the same time. 

I believe in the good things coming. I also believe in the struggles necessary to move forward, to do anything worth doing. Progress is not painless.

I believe in the good things coming. I really do. And so I repeat that, in my head, whenever I need to. I am certain the storms are not over. I am certain the best, and worst, is yet to come. I am certain that we can make positive changes. That we can persevere.

I believe in the good things coming. I believe in trusting the journey. I believe that this moment (and every other) is happening exactly as it is suppose to, when it is suppose to. Even when it doesn’t make any sense. Any sooner, and perhaps I would not have been ready. Any later might have already been too late. Everything is right on time. Right. On. Time.

I believe in the good things coming.  It takes guts to steer your course, no matter which you choose. Within your journey, you will meet many versions of The Resistance. It’s the voice that tells you everything you’re doing is Shit. The voice that says, “Who do you think you are for wanting to be amazing, and do amazing?” The Resistance stops people in their tracks all the time. The Resistance is the nemesis of every creative soul & endeavor. And part of the problem is, every victory makes it stronger.  Once you’ve let it win, it knows it can win again. Destroying your motivation. Destroying your confidence. Disintegrating every thought that this is not only possible, but worth doing.

I believe in the good things coming. I say FUCK the Resistance. I have a note on my wall that says fight it, but now I’m saying Fuck it. It’s nasty, so I’m going to be nasty. I will not let it win. More people will learn what I already know, which is that it can be beaten. The Resistance is not invincible. But it does fight dirty. And winning the battle takes digging in, and it takes ingenuity. The Resistance runs out of breath pretty quick if you put up a good fight. Step one – call it out. Call it. The Fuck. Out. And be louder. Be stronger. Once it’s cover is blown, it usually packs up for a while, preferring to fight sneaky style rather then man to man.

I believe in the good things coming. I like being an underdog, and I like coming from behind. I’m not done giving up the good fight. I have my second wind (or third or fourth). So mark my words, dear Resistance, you are doing down. You will not win this round.We can do this. And we’re building our army of Hope. Strength in community. Strength in support. Strength in courage. No pursuit of anything goes off without a hitch, without a dip. This mistake comes in thinking the dip is the dead end, but the truth is its only disguised as one. The crazy ones see differently. They believe that there is always a way out and a way up, and that it goes even higher then before.

I believe in the good things coming. The best is yet to come, always.

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

One comment on “I Believe in the Good Things Coming

  1. Meka
    November 10, 2014

    Love beyond words! I needed this today! FUCK THE RESISTANCE!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2014 by in Everything All in One Place, Values and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

