The Hawk-Mo Hotwire

Micro Entrepreneurism, Simple Living & Art

I’m Quitting Facebook & Blogging for a Year (But I Still Love You)

Why the fuck not? Is the better question

This story begins on New Year’s Eve. At Hawk-Mo, our tradition is to reflect on the year behind us and dream big for the one ahead of us. In the midst of that, it became clear to me that I wanted to give up a lot of my internet addiction for a while and give that time and mental energy saved to myself. To time spent doing whatever else I wanted to do that I had been neglecting. Art, writing, photography and time spent outside all came to mind.

I began this mission immediately. I committed, in writing, to not posting on my personal Facebook page, to not writing anything for the blog, and to be polite about responding via email, but keep it to a minimum.

On January 17, I wrote this: (the exception to the rule of course)

This not having to share myself with anybody is pretty glorious. I no longer take pictures with the intention of posting on Facebook. I take pictures for me, because I want to take them. I want to remember the moment. Capture it. Save it for later. Share it with the people I was with.

I think thoughts in my head that would make great Facebook status updates, except that they wouldn’t make sense to anyone but Hank, Mom and I. If I remember them long enough, I write them down in my new little thought notebook that I have added to my daily carry setup. Saving that for later too. A keepsake of that moment.

I draw & doodle & make all sorts of hand lettered word grams. They’re notes to myself that I want to have on display so that I can reread them whenever I need to hear the message again. I would’ve wanted to share these on Facebook too. But I realize that would have changed them. I found myself making different decisions at the core level because they are just for me, and no one else. That makes it more pure. More authentic. More me. I simply don’t want to give that up. My art deserves as much authenticity as I can give it. I owe myself that.

I’m surprising myself. I didn’t know that writing could come from inside quite like this. Mostly I stop to recall a passing thought. I used to stop because I didn’t know what else to say. I didn’t have the words.

I started to notice these differences in my very first few days of no Facebook. It took me a few more to embrace them, and another week or so more to realize that this was an experiment that needs to be extended. If I notice this much of a difference in this short of a time, I’m looking forward to what a year could give me. So I’m gifting myself that year.

Now, I’m not quitting the internet entirely, but I’m basically cutting it down to the essentials, using it as a tool for business, research, and basic communication.

The amount of free time & mental space I’ve gained is insane. Already I’ve started working on a book, the printed kind you can hold in your hand. It’s been a dream of mine to write a book since I was in college. I’ve never had the guts to say I’m actually going to do it until now. A little scary & intimidating, but mostly really exciting because I’m pretty sure that I can pull it off and that I’m going to have a really good time doing it. Nothing is certain yet, but today I’m thinking it will be a combination of short stories, poems, original drawings, photography and recipes. To get it published, I will crowd-fund (fingers crossed you guys will love it) and self-publish. I’m taking it on as my mission for the year.

If you wish to send smiles, hugs, good vibes, love, encouragement, commentary, art or some other ridiculousness, all snail mail correspondence will be responded to with glee.

Otherwise, I’ll catch up with you next year. Seriously.

Love to you all,

Mud

About mudly

Mud is main blog writer extraordinaire, picture guru, and the garden and adventure instigator. She loves to cook, but doesn’t much like following a recipe. She also loves typewriters, the color turquoise, and wearing tie dye with stripes. And she dorks out on permies.com while dreaming up and planning her next garden.

3 comments on “I’m Quitting Facebook & Blogging for a Year (But I Still Love You)

  1. Jeanne
    February 1, 2015

    Ok need your snail mail address!

    • mudly
      February 2, 2015

      309 Puppy Creek Dr, Stuart, VA 24171

  2. Pingback: Dare to quit social media? | Your Blog Coach

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2015 by in Art Projects, Changes, Dreams, Updates.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Archives

